Kroger $17M Pharmacy Copay Settlement: Claim by Dec 21

Did you use insurance at a Kroger pharmacy? The $17M Savings Club pricing settlement pays pro rata cash. Claims are due Dec 21, 2026. Who qualifies and how to file.

Last updated October 23, 2026 By LawfareClaims.org

A $17 million settlement covers people who paid for Kroger prescriptions with insurance, and claim forms are due December 21, 2026.

You qualify for the Kroger pharmacy copay settlement if you used insurance to pay, in whole or in part, for prescription drugs from Kroger or a Kroger-owned or operated pharmacy in the United States or its territories between December 9, 2018 and August 23, 2026. The settlement pays a pro rata cash payment based on how much you paid for Kroger prescriptions. Claim forms are due online or postmarked by December 21, 2026. The official settlement website is KrogerSavingsClubSettlement.com.

The class action is Kirkbride et al. v. The Kroger Co., filed April 29, 2021, in federal court in the Southern District of Ohio. The suit claims Kroger reported its higher retail prices instead of its lower Savings Club prices as the "usual and customary" price, which pushed up copays for insured customers. The settlement fund totals $17 million, and the final approval hearing is set for January 11, 2027.

Find a Lawyer for Your ClaimFree case review, no obligation to hire.

Who Qualifies for the Kroger Pharmacy Settlement?

You qualify for the Kroger pharmacy settlement if you paid in whole or in part for prescription drugs from Kroger, including its owned or operated pharmacies, using insurance, in the United States or its territories, between December 9, 2018 and August 23, 2026. That date window is the class period. Both conditions matter: the purchase had to be made with insurance, and it had to fall inside those dates.

Eligible class members can receive a pro rata cash payment. Pro rata means each payment is based on the amount that person paid for Kroger prescriptions. No fixed dollar amount per claimant has been published.

To be paid, you must submit a claim form online or postmarked by December 21, 2026. Claims for $8,000 or more require supporting documents, such as itemized receipts, invoices or statements. File through the official site at KrogerSavingsClubSettlement.com.

Who Is in the Class

The settlement class is all individuals in the United States and its territories who paid in whole or in part for prescription drugs from Kroger, including its owned or operated pharmacies, using insurance, from December 9, 2018 through August 23, 2026. The case is Kirkbride et al. v. The Kroger Co., Case No. 2:21-cv-00022, in federal court in the Southern District of Ohio. Angeion Group is the settlement administrator.

SituationIn the Class?Note
Paid for a Kroger prescription using insurance between Dec 9, 2018 and Aug 23, 2026Within the class definitionThe class definition covers paying in whole or in part
Paid at a pharmacy Kroger owns or operates, using insurance, inside the class periodWithin the class definitionThe class definition names Kroger's owned or operated pharmacies
Insured Kroger prescription purchase before Dec 9, 2018 or after Aug 23, 2026Outside the class definitionOnly purchases inside the class period are covered
Paid for a Kroger prescription without using insuranceThe class definition, as reported, covers people who paid using insuranceCheck your settlement notice or the official website
Any situation not listed hereDecided by the settlement noticeRead the class notice on KrogerSavingsClubSettlement.com for the full definition and any exclusions

The administrator and the court decide who is in the class; the official site is KrogerSavingsClubSettlement.com.

What the Lawsuit Says

The lawsuit claims Kroger reported its higher retail prices instead of its lower Savings Club prices as the "usual and customary" price for prescriptions. According to the suit, that reporting pushed up copays for insured customers.

The case was filed on April 29, 2021, as Kirkbride et al. v. The Kroger Co., Case No. 2:21-cv-00022, in federal court in the Southern District of Ohio. These are the suit's allegations, not findings by a court.

ClassAction.org's report on the $17 million Kroger settlement summarizes the case and the claim terms.

What the Kroger Pharmacy Copay Settlement Pays

The Kroger pharmacy copay settlement creates a $17 million fund that pays approved class members a pro rata cash payment based on the amount they paid for Kroger prescriptions. Each person's payment depends on what that person paid.

ItemWhat the Sources Say
Total settlement$17 million
Payment typePro rata cash payment
What the payment is based onThe amount paid for Kroger prescriptions
Documents for large claimsClaims of $8,000 or more need supporting documents such as itemized receipts, invoices or statements
Per-person amountNot published
Attorney feesNot stated in the reports
Payment dateNot stated; payments begin only after final approval and any appeals

The $8,000 threshold changes what you file. If your claim reaches $8,000 or more, gather itemized receipts, invoices or statements before you submit. The reports do not describe documentation rules for claims below $8,000.

What to Gather and How to File

To file a Kroger settlement claim, submit the claim form at KrogerSavingsClubSettlement.com online, or mail it postmarked by December 21, 2026. Your pharmacy records help you work out what you paid.

  1. Confirm you paid for prescriptions at Kroger or a Kroger-owned or operated pharmacy using insurance between December 9, 2018 and August 23, 2026.
  2. Ask the pharmacy or your insurer for a prescription history or an explanation of benefits (EOB) to see what you paid.
  3. Add up what you paid for Kroger prescriptions during the class period.
  4. If your claim is $8,000 or more, collect supporting documents such as itemized receipts, invoices or statements.
  5. Open KrogerSavingsClubSettlement.com by typing the address into your browser, and complete the claim form.
  6. Submit online, or mail the form so it is postmarked by December 21, 2026, and keep a copy for your records.

Scammers copy headlines about settlements. Type KrogerSavingsClubSettlement.com yourself instead of tapping a link in an unsolicited text or email.

Key Dates

The claim deadline is December 21, 2026.

DateEvent
December 9, 2018 to August 23, 2026Class period for insured Kroger prescription purchases
December 21, 2026Claim forms due online or postmarked
January 11, 2027Final approval hearing

The opt-out and objection deadlines are not stated in the reports used for this page. Check the official site at KrogerSavingsClubSettlement.com for those dates.

After You File a Kroger Pharmacy Copay Settlement Claim

Filing a claim does not trigger an immediate payment, because payments begin only after the court grants final approval and any appeals are resolved. The final approval hearing is January 11, 2027. No payout date has been published.

A class action settlement pays only people who file a valid claim by the deadline. If you do nothing, you will not receive a payment, and unless you opt out you generally give up the right to sue over these claims. See our guides on how to claim settlement money and how class action settlements work.

Settlement money may be taxable depending on what it replaces. This page cannot give tax advice; see our overview of whether settlements are taxable.

This page describes the settlement and cannot tell you whether you qualify, how much you would receive or when. Angeion Group and the court decide those questions. If you used insurance to pay for Kroger prescriptions during the class period, file your Kroger pharmacy copay settlement claim at KrogerSavingsClubSettlement.com before December 21, 2026.

Other open settlements and their dates are collected in our list of October 2026 class action claim deadlines, and you can browse all of our class action guides by topic.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much will I get from the Kroger settlement?

No per-person amount has been published. The $17 million settlement pays a pro rata cash payment based on the amount you paid for Kroger prescriptions. The administrator and the court decide final amounts.

How do I file a Kroger settlement claim?

Submit the claim form online at KrogerSavingsClubSettlement.com, or mail it postmarked by December 21, 2026. Claims for $8,000 or more must include supporting documents such as itemized receipts, invoices or statements. Type the website address yourself instead of tapping a link in an unsolicited text or email.

What is the deadline to claim the Kroger settlement?

Claim forms are due online or postmarked by December 21, 2026. The final approval hearing is January 11, 2027. The opt-out and objection deadlines are not stated in the reports used for this page.

Do I need receipts to claim?

Claims of $8,000 or more require supporting documents, such as itemized receipts, invoices or statements. The reports do not describe documentation rules for smaller claims. You can ask your pharmacy or insurer for a prescription history or an explanation of benefits to see what you paid.

What is the lawsuit about?

The suit claims Kroger reported its higher retail prices instead of its lower Savings Club prices as the "usual and customary" price, which pushed up copays for insured customers. The case is Kirkbride et al. v. The Kroger Co., Case No. 2:21-cv-00022, filed April 29, 2021, in federal court in the Southern District of Ohio.

When will Kroger settlement payments be sent?

No payment date has been published. Payments begin only after the court grants final approval and any appeals are resolved. The final approval hearing is scheduled for January 11, 2027.

Talk to a Licensed Attorney

Browse our legal directory to locate qualified counsel in your state.

Find a Lawyer for Your Claim

Not sure where you stand?

Check your eligibility in under 2 minutes — free, private, and no commitment required.

Latest related briefings